TRUTH – can’t handle it or don’t want it?

jack-says-you-cant-handle-the-truth

I have noticed that most people–even those who call themselves “Christian” or “believers”–really don’t desire the TRUTH.  Many, it seems, don’t desire the TRUTH because they have no desire to accept or handle the TRUTH.

You see, TRUTH obligates us to personal accountability and directs us toward righteousness in our thoughts, actions, conversations, and the paths we take.  The seemingly eternal struggle between the desires of the flesh and the will of the Spirit (Holy Spirit, that is) manifests when people say they love God but their actions, conversations, life paths–all influenced by their thoughts and the spirit within those thoughts–reflect just the opposite of loving God.

Recently, I have been paying more attention to my own actions, thoughts, conversations, and paths.  As a result, I am given more clarity about those individuals and things to which I am connected.  I have observed that conversations come to an abrupt end as soon as God’s standard is brought into the conversation, especially when the individual is indulging in practices not justified by the Word of God.  Mind you, these are “Christians,” “believers” to whom I am referring.

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.
 -John 14:6

We have come to understand that Jesus is the Word of God, and scripture tells us:

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
 -John 1:1

This passage goes on to state:

The same was in the beginning with God. All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life; and the life was the light of men. And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not. -John 1: 2-5

So, let’s add it all up in order to bring this message to its conclusion.

  • Jesus is the TRUTH
  • Jesus is The WORD of God…which is TRUTH
  • God, which is Jesus and the Word and the TRUTH, is life
  • God, which is Jesus and the Word and the TRUTH, is light

If a person is truly a believer in God/Jesus/the WORD of God/the TRUTH, then the person will endeavor to handle (accept) the TRUTH.  I argue, then, that those who will not handle the TRUTH do not truly believe and are operating in rebellion, which causes them to walk in darkness, promoting darkness.  Their only escape from the darkness is through handling (accepting) the TRUTH, which is God–which is Jesus–which is the Word–which is life–which is light.

Believers, make it your goal to reflect God’s light as the Holy Spirit equips you.  We are in a time when the enemy of our souls is promoting worldly/fleshly  desires wholesale, and people are literally selling and giving away their souls to darkness–even people within the church who call themselves “Christians” and “believers.”

Your desire and actions to promote God’s light will cause some upheavals, even within your own families and homes, especially if you are truly directed by the Holy Spirit.  Yet, healing and restoration and peace come to those who accept God’s message and God’s messenger.  If you don’t believe me on this, then PLEASE believe the TRUTH of God’s Word:

34Do not assume that I have come to bring peace to the earth; I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. 35For I have come to turn ‘A man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. 36A man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.’ 37Anyone who loves his father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me; 38and anyone who does not take up his cross and follow Me is not worthy of Me. 39Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for My sake will find it. 40He who receives you receives Me, and he who receives Me receives the One who sent Me. 41Whoever receives a prophet because he is a prophet will receive a prophet’s reward, and whoever receives a righteous man because he is a righteous man will receive a righteous man’s reward. 42And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is My disciple, truly I tell you, he will never lose his reward. (Matthew 10: 34-42)

TRUTH.

Published by: Fredrick O. Stanley

Julius Caesar, according to William Shakespeare's work, stated: "Cowards die many times before their deaths. The valiant never taste of death but once. Of all the wonders that I yet have heard, it seems to me most strange that men should fear; seeing that death, a necessary end, will come when it will come." The Lord God, Jehovah, spoke to Moses saying: "Behold, I have set the land before you: go in and possess the land which the LORD swore unto your fathers, Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give unto them and to their descendants after them." (Deuteronomy 1:8) He then spoke to Isaiah, the prophet, saying: "For I the LORD thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee." (Isaiah 41:13) The Lord has given me His boldness to go into places He desires me to go, proving to me at each and every turn that He is with me and will never forsake me. I am here for the purpose(s) God has set before me and to share my journey with others along the way.

Categories Bible, Truth, UncategorizedTags, , , , , , , , , , , , 6 Comments

6 thoughts on “TRUTH – can’t handle it or don’t want it?”

Leave a Reply

