Your Complaining Gives the Enemy Power over Your Life (Stop Complaining)

10And I heard a loud voice in heaven, saying: “Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of His Christ. For the accuser of our brothers has been thrown down, he who accuses them day and night before our God.11They have conquered him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; and they did not love their lives so as to shy away from death.

Revelations 12:10-11

God blessed me with a new revelation yesterday, one that enabled me to see the subtlety of the enemy in relation to what we say AND the people with whom we associate.  Here’s the situation:

I met up with an associate/buddy/chum to simply hang out, grab a bite to eat, and catch up since our last time hanging out a few months prior.  During the course of our conversation while at dinner, he asked me what have been some of my low points in life since we last saw one another.  Mind you that the entire time of our conversation I was bragging on God and how GOD is moving me forward in every aspect of my life just based on my trust in HIS plan.  So, I was somewhat taken aback when this person asked about “low points” in my life.  Nevertheless, I responded honestly by telling him, “I haven’t had any low points.”  I was challenged immediately on the integrity of my answer!

That’s right.  You heard me correctly.  He basically told me that I was lying.  I explained to this brother that I have simply come to a place in my life where I accept God’s plan as it seems to be playing out.  Do I understand all that the Lord is doing?  NO!  However, I have also accepted the fact that not only is it NOT MY JOB to understand what the Lord is doing, but I also do not have the capacity to understand as explained in Isaiah 55:8-9:  8“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declaresthe LORD. 9“For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways And My thoughts than your thoughts.… (ASV).  This brother, who is dealing with some other unconfessed issues in his spiritual life seemingly, goes on to support calling me a liar by stating that Moses, David, and so many other “…great men of God…” all experienced low points in their lives—to which I agreed.  However, he failed to go further to view the turning points in each of their lives when they stopped struggling with God, repented, and received the PEACE that only God through the Holy Spirit gives.  I tried to explain to this brother that I have God’s peace because I have simply accepted that HE is GOD, and that HIS plan prevails.  Additionally, I explained that he and I are in different places in our lives and have gone through different processes spiritually and otherwise; therefore, there should be no comparisons.

The brother was just not having it; he wanted to debate.  I gave him no audience with this.  In fact, God’s wisdom spoke through me to tell the brother that the real issue within the conversation reflects a matter of acceptanceaccepting the fact that God is in control and that we need to get on-board with His plan for our lives.  As the brother continued to reveal the spirit that was truly within him, the Lord revealed to me how the enemy was attempting to manipulate this brother and me had I failed to listen to the Holy Spirit.

They have conquered him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony.”  The blood of the Lamb part of this scripture was taken care of by God through Jesus and by Jesus through God.  However, “…the word of their testimony” is our part.  Remember I stated that I had been giving praise to God—bragging on Him?  Well, that was TESTIMONY.  The enemy desired to kill that by having me focus on the “low points” in my life (Do you see this?).  Had I started focusing on situations that could be considered bad, tumultuous, uncomfortable, etc., I would have allowed the enemy to overcome me instead of me overcoming him!!!!! Put another way, had I started complaining, I would have become negative, and the enemy would have gained a strong-hold in my life at that moment.

Let’s go deeper with this.  Sure, I could have talked about situations that seemed to have presented a challenge (and I did not mind doing this, as I explained to the brother).  However, we have to add to that part of the conversation the fact that at the onset of challenges/pressure being placed upon me, I talk to the Lord about it/I cry out to God, and He restores my peace immediately.  As a result, I DO NOT experience the pain and drudgery of the “lows points” this brother wanted to emphasize.  When we ACCEPT who God is and that we are HIS children, we allow Him to protect us from the “low points.”  Therefore, without much thought, complaining is kept at an all-time low with the goal of making it non-existent altogether.

The Lord allowed me to see that this brother actually rehearses and replays the “low points” of his life constantly.  He stated in so many words that I was not a friend because I would not compare “low points” with him (misery, which is a spirit, loves company).

At one point during the dinner, I blatantly/audibly declared my personalized version of I John 4:4 by stating: “Greater is he that is in me than he that is in the world.”  That simple declaration was both the blood of the Lamb (the Word, which is Jesus) and a testimony. Well, you know what happened next, don’t you?  The enemy had to flee.

In an amicable manner, we parted ways—probably for good but only God knows.  Nevertheless, I learned that the Holy Spirit matures us with wisdom to truly see and hear what is going on around us and even within us.  It is for this reason I am sharing this with YOU so that you may gain another weapon against the enemy, for he is subtle.

Stop complaining.  If you don’t know what to say, be quiet…perfectly quiet.  However, you need to understand your complaints silence your testimonies and give power to the enemy over your life (as well as injecting others with negativity…it’s infectious).  Your testimonies, on the other hand, silence the complaints and give YOU POWER over the enemy (as well as injecting others with positivity…it’s infectious).

Be Bold to Give Testimonies of God’s Goodness; Be Bold to Stop Complaining

In Jesus’ name, Amen!!!

Published by: Fredrick O. Stanley

Julius Caesar, according to William Shakespeare's work, stated: "Cowards die many times before their deaths. The valiant never taste of death but once. Of all the wonders that I yet have heard, it seems to me most strange that men should fear; seeing that death, a necessary end, will come when it will come." The Lord God, Jehovah, spoke to Moses saying: "Behold, I have set the land before you: go in and possess the land which the LORD swore unto your fathers, Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give unto them and to their descendants after them." (Deuteronomy 1:8) He then spoke to Isaiah, the prophet, saying: "For I the LORD thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee." (Isaiah 41:13) The Lord has given me His boldness to go into places He desires me to go, proving to me at each and every turn that He is with me and will never forsake me. I am here for the purpose(s) God has set before me and to share my journey with others along the way.

Categories christianity, UncategorizedTags, , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

